Chase Briscoe Triumphs as 200th NASCAR Cup Series Winner

Plenty of unknowns were pondered in the NASCAR garage as the series visited the one-mile doglegged oval of Phoenix Raceway for the first time with the Nex Gen cars. One underrated unknown came to life during the spring race at Phoenix Raceway – the domination of youth.

Chase Briscoe, Tyler Reddick, and Ross Chastain all vied for their first career NASCAR Cup Series victory. The three youngsters battled through multiple late-race restarts, but the Indiana native, Briscoe, would overcome and earn his first Cup victory.

This is the first win for Stewart-Haas Racing and their fleet of Ford Mustangs since July 18, 2021 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Briscoe grew up in a dirt racing family with a heritage of winning from both his father and grandfather. After some dirt racing success, Briscoe eyed an asphalt career and began his story as a volunteer shop worker nearly a decade ago. Briscoe worked his way up the ranks and earned a spot in 2021 driving for his idol, Tony Stewart. Stewart began Stewart-Haas Racing driving the No. 14 to honor racing legend A.J. Foyt, and now passes that number along to Briscoe.

Briscoe became the third different NASCAR Cup Series driver to earn their first career race a Phoenix Raceway and is the 200th winner in Cup Series history since its founding in 1948.

Learn more about Chase Briscoe from his appearance on The Inside Lane back in 2020.

NASCAR returns to the valley November 4-6 to crown four champions in three days for NASCAR Championship Weekend at Phoenix Raceway.