ASU’s Coyle added to Mackey Award Watch List

Arizona Sports News online

On Tuesday, Sun Devil tight end Chris Coyle was named to the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List.

The Mackey Award is given out on an annual basis to the country’s most outstanding tight end.

Coyle – who already graduated from ASU this spring, and is a three-year letterman – was the focal point of the Sun Devil offense last season. He had 57 catches for 696 yards and five touchdown catches.

The 57 catches set a single-season school record, while his five TDs were the third most by a tight end in Arizona State history.

Coyle is one of seven tight ends from the Pac-12 to receive the honor. He’s also in a select group of seven: he’s one of seven Sun Devils to be named to a national award list:

Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – Chris Coyle

Maxwell Award (nation’s most outstanding player) – Marion Grice, Taylor Kelly, Will Sutton

Bednarik Award (nation’s most outstanding defensive player) – Carl Bradford, Will Sutton

Hornung Award (nation’s most versatile player) – DJ Foster

Rimington Award (nation’s top center) – Kody Koebensky

Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field) – Alden Darby

The 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List will be announced on Oct. 14, 2013, the 2013 Mackey semi-finalists on Nov. 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey finalists on Nov. 25, 2013.

The 2013 John Mackey recipient will receive the award on Dec. 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show.