AZNFF awards Arizona’s top football players

Arizona Sports News online

The Valley of the Sun chapter of the National Football Foundation held its 20th annual Arizona High School Football Season Champions Luncheon on Friday at the Hilton-Scottsdale Resort.

The luncheon honors the state champions in each division, the state’s top 25 team as selected by the Arizona Football Coaches Association and five individual awards honoring members given out in honor of members of the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame.

The State’s top 25 team consist of:

-Ryan Finley, quarterback, Paradise Valley

-Maurice Lee, running back, Marcos de Niza

-Sevion Morris, running back, Westview

-Nate Phillips, wide receiver, Basha

-Paul Elvira, wide receiver, Marcos de Niza

-Andrew Mike, offensive lineman, Sabino

-Cody King, offensive lineman, Desert Ridge

-Casey Tucker, offensive lineman, Hamilton

-Billy Nichols, offensive lineman, Pinnacle

-Robert Coleman, offensive lineman, Ironwood Ridge

-Matt Bushman, tight end, Sabino

-Priest Willis, defensive back, Marcos de Niza

-Cole Luke, defensive back, Hamilton

-Kyle Woolard, defensive back, Desert Edge

-Jalen Ortiz, defensive back, Centennial

-Santana Sterling, linebacker, Hamilton

-Robert Relf, linebacker, Brophy

-Chans Cox, linebacker, Blue Ridge

-Qualen Cunningham, defensive lineman, Hamilton

-Drake Danielson, defensive lineman, Queen Creek

-Antonio Zepeda, defensive lineman, Camelback

-Frank Ogas, defensive lineman, Morenci

-AJ Thigpen, punter, Hamilton

-Colby Gregory, kicker, Mountain Pointe,

-Kani Benoit, kick returner, Thunderbird

The 2012 recipient of the Curley Culp Defensive Lineman Award is Mountain Ridge defensive tackle Eddie Giannina who has 74 tackles and 13 sacks on the season.

Patrick Joseph of Hamilton was named the 2012 recipient of the Frank Kush Offensive Lineman Award after being one of the senior leaders for the state champion Huskies. Joseph is going to suit up for Army next fall.

Receiving the 2012 Ron Prichard Linebacker Award was Brophy linebacker Robert Relf who led the Broncos with 102 tackles on the season. Relf is committed to play for Florida Atlantic at the next level.

The last player to receive an individual player award was the recipient of the Danny White Quarterback Award which was Darrell Garretson of Chandler who became the second Wolves quarterback to receive the honor. The first was Brett Hundley in 2010. Garretson threw for 3,065 yards and 27 touchdowns to six interceptions on the season. He is committed to play at San Jose State at the next level.

Finally, the recipient of the Earl Putman Dedicated Coaching Award was given to Tommy Brittain of Tempe Prep Academy.